My Thoughts While Watching… The Craft (1996) [Trigger Warning: Mentions of Self-Harm, Suicide, & Rape]

I’ve seen plenty of Buzzfeed posts floating around where people write a list of thoughts while watching a movie. I read one years ago where someone watched all of the Harry Potter movies for the first time while live tweeting and writing a post per movie. I still quote a lot of what he said to this day. #Wood4Wood.

Anyway, I have taken inspiration and have decided to try it for myself. Of course they will be horror movies and possibly TV shows. They don’t have to be first time watches. It just gives me something productive to do while watching TV.

I will number everything to kind of break it up and there will be SPOILERS. Here we go…

WARNING: the movie covers topics of rape, self-harm and mentions of suicide. There will be a couple of screenshots, but nothing too graphic. If you’re not in the right headspace for these topics or are triggered by them then I recommend giving this post a miss.

© Columbia Pictures
  1. It’s been a couple of years. And it’s next on Netflix search. I’m not ever not up for watching The Craft.
  2. I was 9 when this movie came out, but when I was 12-13 years old I used to watch it ALOT. It made me interested in Wicca, along with Practical Magic. I still have my spellbooks somewhere. I really need to try and dig them out sometime.
  3. Remembered the subtitles from the get-go. Well done me!
  4. I taped this off Sky Movies and that’s how I used to watch it. I missed out the first minute or so so it was a long time before I saw the brief before credits scene with the other three gals.

    © Columbia Pictures
  5. This music is so mid-90s. I love that.
  6. This movie came out not long after Empire Records, so Robin Tunney had to wear a wig here because she began filming this a month after she finished filming that.

    © Columbia Pictures
  7. It also came out the same year as Scream.

    © Columbia Pictures
  8. What are peg and groove floors? I’ve never heard of such a thing. I’m pretty sure this is the only line we get from Sarah’s stepmum, whose name has already escaped me. I think it’s Jenny?
  9. I’ve always wondered about that photo of her Mum. Was she a model for Sears or something?
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  10. I hate it when random homeless men with snakes wander into my new house and tell me to relax like I’m insane for getting upset that he just let himself in.
  11. Do you think they learned from Cannibal Holocaust and Friday the 13th about people not liking it when you kill snakes in front of them? See, kiddies, you can choose to cut to black instead of showing a real animal death.
  12. Teen girl hates her stepmother cliche.
  13. So was the Catholic school the only high school in their district?
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  14. Haha, goth girl is Satan. Hilarious, Breckin. You know what’s funnier than that? You’re future as live-action Jon Arbuckle in the movie even Bill Murray hates. Now that’s hilarious. Rat Race was pretty funny, too. But that wasn’t because of you.
  15. Billy Loomis looks weirdly taller in this movie. He also looks cleaner without the greasy, floppy hair that was so popular at the time. It will be infamously worn by Luke Wilson in the sequel.

    © Columbia Pictures
  16. Haha, goth girl has a noose hanging in her locker. Edgy.

    © Columbia Pictures
  17. Not going to close your locker there, Nance? What if someone else tries to use your edgy noose?
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  18. Haha, Breckin is a dumbass. Quelle surprise.
  19. Oh, you did not get laid you loser.
  20. Why aren’t we getting the French translations with these subtitles?

    © Columbia Pictures
  21. Snail trail? Isn’t that the line of hair that goes down from a man’s belly button? What a weird thing to call someone. Especially a complete stranger.
  22. We get it, you’re a douche. Let’s move on.
  23. What a neat pencil trick. It’s like magic.

    © Columbia Pictures
  24. You distracted her.

    © Columbia Pictures
  25. Did the nun just direct the new girl to the scary trio in the back?

    © Columbia Pictures
  26. Dude’s clothes are like three times too big for him.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  27. Well, if it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it’s an asshole.
  28. They were hardly rude to you. They just have a tendency to stare is all.

    © Columbia Pictures
  29. The nickname “Bitches of Eastwick” has never sat right with me. Even when I was younger. It’s not funny, clever, or nice.

    © Columbia Pictures
  30. Did he just call Nancy a major slut? He really is a duck.
  31. Anyway, you’re one to talk you big slut.

    © Columbia Pictures
  32. “I don’t know from experience”. Yeah right.

    © Columbia Pictures
  33. I love the way she deadpan says a lot of her lines. She did this in Empire Records, too, and I love her for it.
  34. Hey, wanna come watch me play football? Yah, sure. Why not. Actually, why would you?
  35. And he’s walking away in slow motion. I didn’t know that’s how ducks walked.

    © Columbia Pictures
  36. Cue The Smiths. Actually it’s a cover. This was before Charmed, which was nowhere near as good as this movie. This is what Charmed wanted to be when it grew up. It even used the same cover song. An inferior ripoff.
  37. [Ghostface voice] Surprise, witches!

    © Columbia Pictures
  38. His last name is Hooker? Both a noun and a verb.
  39. I don’t even know him, I just wanted to watch him run around with the other boys.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  40. Apologise, Nancy. Don’t just have your friend do it on your behalf.
  41. Why do people say “yeah we/I know who you are” like that’s not at all creepy. Please stop saying this, Hollywood. It. Is. Creepy.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  42. Don’t worry, Bonnie. He’ll be your boyfriend next. Wink.
  43. He fell. Lol. You could almost say he was 86-ed by gravity. Won’t be the last time, either.

    © Columbia Pictures
  44. Sure, wander off with the strange girls that everyone is afraid of. Nothing bad could possibly happen.

    © Columbia Pictures
  45. Just casually point out the scar on her wrist from an attempted suicide.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  46. The right way? You mean up the wrist instead of across? This is two movies in a row for Robin where her character slits her wrist.
  47. Is it punk rock to slit your wrists? Nancy says yes. Trust her, her name is Nancy.

    © Columbia Pictures
  48. Yeah, Bonnie, how do you know the right way to slit your wrists? I think this may warrant a conversation with someone.

    © Columbia Pictures
  49. Why does this woman keep letting these girls into her shop when she knows they steal. Is she just waiting for Karma to eventually catch up with them?
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  50. Here, steal this book. It’s what the animals would do in nature.
  51. Well she’s openly walking around with the book so she can’t steal it now.

    © Columbia Pictures
  52. “It was your mother’s”. I love how Sarah doesn’t even ask how she knows this, like she’s not impressed, even though the woman seems kind of smug about saying that previous sentence.

    © Columbia Pictures
  53. “Are you going to pay for those?”. You mean those book. She didn’t pick anything else up. “Actually I was just going to put in my bag and leave, so no”.

    © Columbia Pictures
  54. She feels so guilty that her new BFFs are always stealing from this shop that she decides to pity buy some candles.

    © Columbia Pictures
  55. “You know how to use candles?” My brain seems to be struggling to process this ridiculous dialogue. You can see from Sarah’s reaction that she knows how I feel right now.

    © Columbia Pictures
  56. Another book, what a cheeky bitch. Also, roll credits.

    © Columbia Pictures
  57. When Bonnie asked Sarah if she was going to go shopping with them at the school, she said she didn’t have any money, which they responded with “we get a five fingered discount”. Then all of a sudden she has $20 to spend on two magic books and three gothic dinner candles. Magic, I guess?

    © Columbia Pictures
  58. Sarah’s really getting the hang of this staring thing. She’ll fit in in not time.

    © Columbia Pictures
  59. Why does this guy keep handing out snakes?
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  60. I don’t know if that priest insert was supposed to be a joke or… It was very out of place.
  61. Damn, that guy’s head was squished under that car, but there’s no gore or sign of head squishage when you see his body come to a stop in the middle of the road.

    © Columbia Pictures
  62. Is he still moving? Because it looked like he was still moving.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  63. A guy was staggering across a busy road and they all thought he was going to get hit by a car, so they must have made it happen? I knew he was going to get hit by a car, does that make a witch, too? Can I be the fifth corner? I’ll bring someone else in and we can make it a cube. I don’t know how many corners a cube has but I’m sure I can meet that quota once I find out.
  64. These are some Twilight Zone scenarios, Sarah. Like when Burgess Meredith finally has peace and quiet to read all of the books and his glasses fall off and break. I believe it’s called Sod’s law.
  65. Nancy talking about this deity, Manon, being inside of her sounds like that scene from Rosemary’s Baby to me.

    © Columbia Pictures
  66. She’s scared. I don’t blame her, freak.
  67. So she got her own school uniform now. Adorable. That’ll make getting dressed in the morning a bit easier. Speaking from experience.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  68. He’s not good with being told no is he? Foreshadowing. I hope this doesn’t turn him into a masked serial killer. We all know what happens to Billy when he doesn’t get his nut off.
  69. It’s okay, I’ll tell everyone we did it anyway.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  70. Duck really can’t take rejection.

    © Columbia Pictures
  71. Get some clothes that fit, Asshat.

    © Columbia Pictures
  72. Yeah, Sarah, you tell him!

    © Columbia Pictures
  73. I’ll admit, my friend and I used to quote that whole “she’s gonna cry, then I’m gonna cry, then we’re all gonna cry” line a lot. Still kind of humorous.
  74. Teenage boys really suck.
  75. Actually, so do teenage girls.

    © Columbia Pictures
  76. You’re making it very difficult for me to enjoy Dodgeball and Zoolander. And I am not okay with that. Dammit Christine!

    © Columbia Pictures
  77. Why is it funny that this bitch literally just admitted to being openly racist? I don’t get the joke. When I was younger I didn’t realise that that’s what this was about.

    © Columbia Pictures
  78. The look of Rochelle’s face when she said that. Damn, that’s painful.

    © Columbia Pictures
  79. Oh, it’s Mary Alice Young. She just keeps popping up in random things. First Starship Troopers, then Gilmore Girls, and now this.

    © Columbia Pictures
  80. It’s like a massive human sewing machine. This is what fabric must feel like when we make clothes.

    © Columbia Pictures
  81. We never find out how she got those scars. Or how repeatedly stabbing them with a needle will make them go away. The only thing that’ll make those go away is magic. Wink.

    © Columbia Pictures
  82. Keep breathing. Sound advice, Doc.

    © Columbia Pictures
  83. I think this is where my apprehension about getting a tattoo comes from. And I would really like a few of those.
  84. I don’t remember that suicide attempt flashback.

    © Columbia Pictures
  85. White trash trailer park family life. Is she going to grow up to be Mikey My-My? So Rob wasn’t just remaking Halloween…
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  86. I don’t get that joke, either. The nun just asked you to stop talking in class.
  87. I love that line; “we are the weirdos, Mister”. Classic.

    © Columbia Pictures
  88. I need to check Spotify for the soundtrack.
  89. When your new friends hold a dagger to your throat in the middle of the woods, then force you to drink your own (and their) blood.

    © Columbia Pictures
  90. I always thought Rochelle said “Reece’s Pieces of bleach blonde shit”. She doesn’t.

    © Columbia Pictures
  91. Nancy’s a bit of a psycho, and one of Rochelle’s only friends. Why isn’t she threatening Laura to leave her alone? That’s what good friends do, they protect their friends from disgusting people.
  92. You can’t get the complete soundtrack, but some of it is on Spotify.
  93. Where did she get that picture of Duck?

    © Columbia Pictures
  94. So does having scars all over your back prevent you from washing your hair? Because that’s the only gross thing about Bonnie. Everything else is fine. Just a quick shampoo/conditioner.

    © Columbia Pictures
  95. So magic will turn an asshole into a crazed stalker. Why does she even want to cast a love spell on this chucklefuck? Respect yourself, girl. He told everyone that you were bad in bed because you turned him down. Find yourself a nice, respectful wizard. Try Hogwarts, they’re all British there.

    © Columbia Pictures
  96. Mandatory mass.

    © Columbia Pictures
  97. Okay this scene is actually pretty hysterical. His friends are making fun of him and making Stepford references and he’s just sitting there all “duuuuuuhhhh” like there’s some mind control at play. And when she tells him to pay attention to the priest…

    © Columbia Pictures
  98. Just four teenage witches, smoking and watching Wheel of Fortune at Bonnie’s.

    © Columbia Pictures
  99. I still love Sarah and Bonnie’s hairstyles 20+ years later. Such swoopy fringes.

    © Columbia Pictures
  100. Have they tried “wingardium leviosa”? Remember, it’s levi-owe-sa, not levi-o-saah.

    © Columbia Pictures
  101. Wow, she’s really floating.

    © Columbia Pictures
  102. “Are you girls getting high?” Lol, mums.

    © Columbia Pictures
  103. This reminds me, I haven’t finished Bewitched. I’m still on season 3 and I left it a couple of years ago. I don’t think I need to rewatch, each episode seems pretty self-contained.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  104. See, Sarah’s only known Rochelle a short time and she’s already taken action against Laura. Such an awesome gal pal.

    © Columbia Pictures
  105. “They have shampoo for that, you know”. I still love that line.
  106. Why does it look like Nancy has dipped her fingers in candle wax?
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  107. Yeah, put a lid on it, Laura. Stupid bitch.
  108. This is what happens when you bleach too much. Or in my case bleach after two colour removal treatments. I was fully prepared to be bald. Luckily it just broke in half.

    © Columbia Pictures
  109. Needle the scars until they just wipe of with a cotton wool pad.

    © Columbia Pictures
  110. It’s like peeling off dry glue and it looks oddly satisfying.
  111. Finally, she can wash her hair and take off her coat.

    © Columbia Pictures
  112. Haha, they’re talking about masturbating too much.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  113. Now that her scars have peeled off has that made her more confident, because they weren’t visible so it made no difference to her physically?

    © Columbia Pictures
  114. I love how Rochelle does a little mime for hat there. I don’t know why.

    © Columbia Pictures
  115. Her pep talk sucks, though. Reminding Nancy that she’s white isn’t going to help her spell work.

    © Columbia Pictures
  116. That’s dude’s gross.
  117. And now he’s dead.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  118. Apparently in 1996 you could stretch $175,000 quite far.
  119. Casually joking about shooting your mother with an imaginary shotgun cause she’s embarrassed by her.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  120. Aw her mum clearly doesn’t have any friends.
  121. A furnished apartment for $175,000. I’m not sure the writers thought it through, but then I haven’t done the research.

    © Columbia Pictures
  122. I used to do this with my friend. We would lie and say it worked even though you couldn’t see it in the mirror.

    © Columbia Pictures
  123. “A smaller ass”. I laughed really hard at that.

    © Columbia Pictures
  124. Oh, dear. That duck’s outside your window in the middle of the night screaming your name.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  125. That line delivery of “nobody can help me” is pretty funny.
  126. I’m not sure how much of this dialogue is supposed to be funny, but I think Shyamalan saw this and got inspired to make The Happening.
  127. Rochelle put Nemo in a bag!

    © Columbia Pictures
  128. This movie and snakes.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  129. Don’t tell Nancy about the snakes and bugs you used to hallucinate. She may use it against you later.
  130. Is May Eve the last day of April?
  131. Just Googled and yes it is.

    © Columbia Pictures
  132. Nancy should definitely not have these kinds of powers.

    © Columbia Pictures
  133. She killed those sharks! Where was she during the plot of Jaws.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  134. She needs to stop screaming about a man being inside of her.
  135. She really likes Chris? Why? He sucks.

    © Columbia Pictures
  136. Why are you surprised at her behaviour? She’s always been a psycho. Now she has magical powers.
  137. “What did I do to deserve this?” Uuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhhh………..

    © Columbia Pictures
  138. Are we supposed to be feeling sorry for her?

    © Columbia Pictures
  139. See, all that magic and now Rochelle can’t even look at herself in the mirror.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  140. I think he’s probably watching you, Sarah. That’s how he knows what you look like right now. It’s like he’s stalking you. Or he’s Ghostface. Either way, yikes.
  141. Remember how badly he took her rejection before the love spell turned him into a psychotic stalker? That hasn’t gotten better.

    © Columbia Pictures
  142. Okay, here’s how I see it. Nancy’s friend (who I’m guessing she’s known for a while) is consistently racially bullied at school and she does nothing. Suddenly, Nancy’s new white friend is almost raped because of a magic spell and she not only goes charging to a party to fuck with him, she kills him. Damn, watching this at 35 is different than watching it at 13.

    © Columbia Pictures
  143. Where did he get that hat? He didn’t have that earlier and this is just after. And why isn’t it three times bigger than his head?

    © Columbia Pictures
  144. Nancy doesn’t take rejection well, either. It’s like she becomes a totally different person. Like it’s not even her anymore.

    © Columbia Pictures
  145. Good thing he’s wasted. Otherwise he would have been freaking out now.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  146. I’m bald now, maybe I should be nice to the Black girl… And I’m going to look uncomfortable as I do it.

    © Columbia Pictures
  147. I used to think she said he treated women like horses. She did not.
  148. At least he was wasted. I bet, when they look out the window he’ll be gone…

    © Columbia Pictures
  149. She actually thought that underneath all the bravado and treating girls like fuck toys, he was a good guy? Oh, Sarah. Oh, Honey.

    © Columbia Pictures
  150. He just wants to help you, Sarah. He is your only living parent after all.

    © Columbia Pictures
  151. When did they take this photo?
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  152. That’s a lot of ribbon.
  153. [Ghostface voice] Surprise, witches!

    © Columbia Pictures
  154. It’s just a bunch of hocus pocus.

    © Columbia Pictures
  155. What’s the school saying about Sarah now? Clearly it’s upsetting.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  156. Casual murder threats. I warned you about wandering off with these strange girls that everyone is afraid of.
  157. Time to go behind the curtain. To the back room where all the witch porn is kept.

    © Columbia Pictures
  158. Now that’s quick and convenient candle lighting. Light one and you light them all. It’s like magic.

    © Columbia Pictures
  159. When you’re being chased by witches, I guess running through junkie alley is like walking through Care Bear lane.

    © Columbia Pictures
  160. See, I told you shouldn’t have told Nancy about the snakes and bugs.

    © Columbia Pictures
  161. I just feel a load of Sideshow Bob style shuddering coming.

    © Columbia Pictures
  162. Did Nancy really just run out of the bathroom like she’s hurrying to set up a prank or something? Very Ghostface.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  163. How is you levitating a surprise? A cake is a surprise. This isn’t.
  164. So for the other two it’s basically peer pressure. They’re just following Nancy cause she’s nuts and dangerous.

    © Columbia Pictures
  165. See, she’s turning on them already.

    © Columbia Pictures
  166. Now she’s all alone. She just let them leave. You would think she’d put up more of an aggressive fight to get them to stay.
  167. She’s got one of those Harry Potter photo frames.

    © Columbia Pictures
  168. She’s self-healing. It’s like magic.

    © Columbia Pictures
  169. Okay, we get it, Nancy. You have a knife. We’re all very impressed.

    © Columbia Pictures
  170. The effect of Sarah coming out of the mirror still looks awesome.

    © Columbia Pictures
  171. The effect of Nancy covered in snakes and bugs, however, does not.

    © Columbia Pictures
  172. A little crazy? That’s putting it mildly.
    © Columbia Pictures

    © Columbia Pictures
  173. “I called him first”. He’s my daddy, not yours! He loves me more than you!
  174. Well, that was easy. Looks like her biggest weakness is a mirror.

    © Columbia Pictures
  175. “We want to apologise”. Yes, I’m sure you do.

    © Columbia Pictures
  176. And that’s where she belongs.

    © Columbia Pictures
  177. Wait, Breckin’s name was Mitt? O…kay?

This movie still really holds up, although watching it as an adult vs. watching it as a teenager are two completely different experiences. There are some good effects, like Sarah materialising into her clothes through the floor, and some not so good, like Nancy walking on water. It’s still one of those movies that feels relevant for teenage girls, whether they practice the dark arts or not. Dealing with boys, peer pressure, bullies, your best friends turning on you, and fitting into a new school, are some of the things we can all relate to at that age. This is appealing without preaching about feminism or basically pandering to a young female audience. It’s about four teenage girls who have their own individual personalities and traumas, going through something bigger than they will ever comprehend or even attempt to control. The soundtrack is also awesome.

Source: IMDB

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.