The Beginning of My Filmmaking Journey

This is going to be something a little bit different—more personal.

Since 4/9/23, I have been a broadcast media student. This basically covers screen media, radio, audio editing, and other such fields in the entertainment industry. The course is split into two sections: level 4 runs until the end of January and level 5 begins in early February and runs until summer. After that, there is a level 6, followed by a Higher National Certificate (HNC) and a Higher National Diploma (HND). This can then be followed by a university degree.

Now, I am hoping to skip level 6 and move straight onto their HNC screen course. As long as I pass level 4, then level 5, it shouldn’t be a huge leap for me to do that. My age is something that can be taken into account (37 when I apply), as well as my year of Creative Technology course back in 2003 after leaving high school and my two and a half years of theatre back in 2008. These are likely to work in my favour, along with a recommendation from my lecturer. All I would need to do—aside from passing the fourth and fifth levels, of course—is make up a portfolio to show my passion for filmmaking. This would mean making short films in my spare time with the use of college resources, as well as adding what I have created as part of my current course.

Up to now, the course has mainly focused on the audio side. Recording and editing audio to create a story has been something that I have enjoyed doing. We even did our own music radio shows and participated in interviewing other classmates. The radio show was fun. It was recorded as if it were live—but it wasn’t; it was to be unedited—and I did mine on horror, Halloween, and themed music. This was done with a partner who is also a horror fan. The interview was also done on horror.

At the time of writing this, I have been working on two separate 5-minute audio stories, similar to radio dramas. One is going to be set in a haunted house with the classic spooky sound effects. It was originally going to be a different story with dialogue, but it was too hard and didn’t sound at all natural. I have an even bigger amount of respect for voice actors now since I get just how difficult it is. The second is more outlandish and funny, like a cartoon made for radio. I wanted to do two contrasting pieces to show how versatile I am, given that I am known in my class for being a horror addict. I also seem to be one of the few aspiring filmmakers and the second-oldest overall.

As much as I have enjoyed the work we have done so far—with one unit already complete—I am desperate to begin learning about the screen aspect, since it is what I want to do. The facilities on the college campus are amazing. There’s a radio station, a recording studio, and a TV studio. Not to mention, there is a big theatre in the same town. Surprisingly, they don’t have a drama department…

The reason I want to skip level 6 and move straight to that particular HNC course is because I want to focus solely on filmmaking. If I don’t have to spend another year learning a variety of roles within the entertainment industry, then that would be better for me. I can concentrate on what I do want to learn: how to make films.

So…

What do I want to do in the future?

My goal is to create different types of films. I have multiple films in my head already. I want to write my own screenplays that I can then film and produce myself. And, of course, this will give me the opportunity to create my own horror projects. My ultimate goal in life is to create my own horror anthology show, focusing on a variety of subgenres, themes, tones, and tropes. My love letter to horror, if you will. Each episode will be different, like a modern-day Twilight Zone or a slightly larger scale Inside No. 9.

Ideally, I would like to make indie movies rather than large-scale Hollywood blockbusters. Whether I want to stay in the UK or not is undecided, although travelling is something I would love to do. I want to make films and screen them at film festivals. Luckily, there is one in Edinburgh, which is a short 30-minute train journey from me.

How do I plan to accomplish this?

My first step is to complete levels 4 and 5. I am 100% confident that I can do this, given how well I have been doing so far. The work is easier than I thought it was going to be, and since I’ve been out of full-time education for 15 years, I definitely expected to struggle more. Then, I will work on writing short films that I can make as part of my application to the HNC course next year. For this, I will need to try to build up some relationships with some drama students. Luckily, Kevin (my other half) is a HNC theatre student, so there is my way in. This will be beneficial for everyone involved, so I would like to hope that they will be more than cooperative.

I will also continue to write more screenplays for feature-length films as well as episodes for the anthology series. Getting the ideas from my head and putting them on my laptop screen is my biggest obstacle. I can picture it all in my head; I just need to sit and write in complete silence with no distractions. Easier said than done. It is for my future, though.

I have purchased a handful of filmmaking books, but I’m only part of the way through one of them, the smallest one. Figures. Those, coupled with YouTube videos, should help me learn the basics and fundamentals of filmmaking. When you get to my age, you understand the importance of taking the initiative and constant learning.

One way that I can learn to make my own films is to watch others. I plan to start doing the following:

  • Watch my way through some of the classics. I have already seen Casablanca (one of the greatest screenplays ever written), but I’m due for a rewatch. I’ve also seen a lot of Hitchcock and plan to get through the filmographies of some influential filmmakers and actors. I recently watched Sunset Boulevard and All About Eve, both of which I loved.
  • Attempt to watch more foreign-language films (other than horror) to broaden my interests and influence. There are so many great movies that come out of Asia and Europe, among many other countries and continents.
  • Learn to analyse films as I watch them. Hopefully without ruining movie watching and the ability to switch my brain off and enjoy anything. Scream 6 could have put an end to that. Stupid brain guessing the killer. That never happens!
  • Examine the cinematography, use of lighting, sound, and dialogue to enhance and grow my own skills.
  • Films about films. Documentaries, behind-the-scenes specials, fictional movies about the filmmaking process. There are many types of films that show the creative process and struggles that happen both behind and in front of the camera. Boogie Nights counts, right? I mean, it’s in my top 10 films of all time. Do I need an excuse to rewatch it?

Once I have learned the fundamentals, whether I have finished my education or not, I should be able to make my own short films, which will give me the experience needed to move onto feature-lengths. These can be entered into local film festivals. I do aspire to enter Sundance, London, Toronto, and other such events, but one step at a time.

All I can really do right now is learn, practise, write, and repeat. I’ve been living film for most of my life, so it’s a wonder it’s taken me this long to figure out that this is what I want to do. It incorporates the things I love: media, creativity, and writing. I’m genuinely excited to keep creating and be able to put my ideas into production. I can’t wait.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.