“Bad” Horror Movie Sequels I Actually Enjoyed

Now when I say bad, I mean sequels that have been panned by critics and fans alike. Follow ups that people tend to dislike for whatever reason. There have been plenty of horror movies that I’ve enjoyed over the years – even though others haven’t – and these sequels are no exception. I already did a list of “Bad” Horror Movies I Actually Enjoyed, so I thought a sequel to that would be a good idea (like most studios do).

I will include the links for each movie on justwatch, on which you can change the country to suit your location, so you can find out where to watch it.

Brahms – The Boy 2 (2020)

© STX Films © STX Entertainment

I ended the first list on the first movie, so I thought I’d start this one with the sequel. It may have been underwhelming, and disappointingly generic. And they may have erased the original plot which was kind of clever, but this was watchable enough. I actually like Katie Holmes in generic horror like this. From Disturbing Behavior (1998), to Abandon (2002), and Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark (2010). She lends some likability to her roles, making her more sympathetic and the movie that little bit more enjoyable.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/brahms-the-boy-ii

The Gallows Act II (2019)

© Blumhouse Productions © Lionsgate

The problem with its predecessor is its highly unlikable characters. This sequel gave us one main protagonist to focus on that was a decent person, and dropped the found footage, which was fine. It may get a bit convoluted at the end, but it’s still a marked improvement on the first.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/us/movie/the-gallows-act-ii

Happy Death Day 2U (2019)

© Blumhouse Productions © Universal Pictures

The biggest complaint is the genre shift. It went from slasher to sci-fi, a change that I welcomed. It differed from the first and gave us some more comedy gold from our lead, Jessica Rothe. Her suicide montage is hilarious, regardless of how silly it is. It packs more of an emotional punch than the first movie and gives Rothe more of a chance to show off her range. A third instalment (Happy Death Day to Us) is currently in active development and I’m really crossing my fingers that it doesn’t land in development hell.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/happy-death-day-2u

Candyman – Farewell to the Flesh (1995)

© PolyGram Filmed Entertainment © Gramercy Pictures

People don’t seem to like this sequel. I watched it at a young age and still think its a perfect follow up to one of my favourite horror movies of all time. I got them both on Blu-ray for my birthday a couple of years ago and they are two of my favourite horror Blu-rays that I own. The change of location to New Orleans is one of my favourite things about this movie. There’s something eerie about it, possibly because of movies like The Skeleton Key, Interview with the Vampire, and The Beyond, as well as the large number of cemeteries it boasts. The inclusion of Veronica Cartwright is always an added bonus to any horror movie.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/candyman-farewell-to-the-flesh

Hellraiser IV – Bloodline (1996)

© Dimension Films © Miramax

PINHEAD IN SPACE!! You have to imagine that in a long drawn out echoey voice. It is obligatory so the creators had no choice but to take it there. I just liked the backstory aspect and learning about the origins of the box. The rest is fairly forgettable to be honest.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/us/movie/hellraiser-bloodline

The Rage – Carrie 2 (1999)

© United Artists © Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Full disclosure: I saw this before the original. I know, I know, but late 90s sequels were more accessible to me during this time. The same goes for Child’s Play where I saw Bride of Chucky first. Therefore I will always have a special spot for this follow-up in the dark recesses of my heart. I appreciate that they brought back Sue Snell, that was a nice touch.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/the-rage-carrie-2

Child’s Play 3 (1991)

© Universal Pictures

This one seems to be universally hated by fans of the franchise (minus one YouTuber I watch). I think it’s the setting of a military school and a change in actor for Andy, but there could be other reasons. I find it enjoyable enough to watch it during a marathon and think it’s better than the two that follow. The characters are less irritating to watch than Jessie and Jade, and the plot is less confusing than Seed. I know Bride gave us Tiffany, but the two humans just suck so much. Oh, I think you might be a serial killer but let’s get married anyway… Stupid.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/childs-play-3

Friday the 13th Part 3 (1982)

© Paramount Pictures

This has always been my favourite sequel. I’m not completely sure why, I just enjoy it the most. It’s definitely not the 3D aspect, since I’ve never watched it that way due to it giving me a headache and sore eyes. It’s the movie that gave Jason his iconic hockey mask, and some of the characters are funny. There are some good kills which use great practical effects. Come on, Rick’s head is amazingly terrible.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/friday-the-13th-part-3

Halloween III – Season of the Witch (1982)

© Dino De Laurentiis Company © Universal Pictures

I have defended this movie multiple times, so I no longer feel the need to justify myself. I just like it is all. Michael Myers or no Michael Myers.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/halloween-iii-season-of-the-witch

Scream 3 (2000)

© Dimension Films © Miramax

When it comes to horror franchise entries, the third is usually (but not always) considered the worst: Halloween III, Blade Trinity, Child’s Play 3, for example. Of course A Nightmare on Elm Street 3 is an exception, but Scream 3 is not. Yes, it’s the weakest of the series, but it has its positives. The biggest criticism seems to be the voice changer, which lets face it has never been all that realistic to begin with. Every voice changer has had the same voice, no matter the killer, plus how is it possible to sound like a realistic human man rather than a robot? If that technology existed, why wouldn’t Stephen Hawking (or anyone else who requires tech for speech) have used it? Aside from the improbable device, focusing on the making and production trouble of the new Stab movie is a welcome change. Rather than a paint by numbers plot in Woodsborough again, they showed how the events of the first two movies affected each character, and reminded us about Hollywood’s trend of cashing in on real life tragedy. It’s just too bad they didn’t use what Randy said – that a main character can be killed off in the third movie of a trilogy – by not killing off one of the main three. At this point it just feels like these characters are never in any real danger, making their fates more predictable.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/scream-3

Hannibal (2001)

© Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer © Universal Pictures

I would like to begin with this statement; The Silence of the Lambs is my favourite movie of all time. With that being said, here’s why I like this sequel. Of course the change of Clarice is going to be jarring and divisive given Jodie Foster’s compelling Oscar winning performance as the OG. But given Julianne Moore’s acting chops (with over 100 acting credits beginning in 1981 and an Oscar win in 2015) she is capable of holding her own when paired with heavyweights such as Anthony Hopkins and Gary Oldman. She was even nominated for a Saturn Award in 2002 for her efforts. Given that Hopkins got more screen time this go round, that alone is worth a watch. Do it for Gary, he spent so long in that makeup chair.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/hannibal

Book of Shadows – Blair Witch 2 (2000)

© Lions Gate Films © Artisan Entertainment

The interesting thing about this sequel is that I get why people don’t like it. I think the only reason I enjoy it is down to pure nostalgia. It’s not really a good movie, the characters are meh, and it’s obvious that the movie was rushed. That’s all I have to say about this.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/book-of-shadows-blair-witch-2

Blade Trinity (2004)

© New Line Cinema

Speaking of nostalgia, I saw this at the cinema. I was always a fan of the first movie, and the first sequel is actually better. This one however doesn’t get any love despite it’s stacked cast. I get that it’s a change of tone, there’s a lot of cringe-worthy humour, and it kind of feels like Wesley is phoning it in at this point (which he was), but the visuals are kind of cool and the movie is endlessly quotable. Plus vampire Triple H is all kinds of awesome and his banter with Ryan Reynolds is hilarious. And of course Parker Posey makes any movie better (see the aforementioned Scream 3).

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/blade-trinity

Legend of the 7 Golden Vampires (1974)

© A Hammer/Shaw Production © Columbia-Warner

This one is off kilter with the rest of the series. Because martial arts movies were incredibly popular in the 1970s, Hammer teamed up with the Shaw Brothers to create this amazing mash up. Now I’m not a fan of martial arts movies, with this and Kung Pow being rare exceptions, but I loved this sequel more than words can say. Not only did Peter Cushing get involved, but because of this movie I learned that Wimp Lo wasn’t just some incompetent boob that was trained wrong as a joke, but was a well respected stunt man, choreographer, and actor. Seriously, just seeing the actor in this movie made my day. Now if Christopher Lee had taken the role as Dracula for the less than 10 minutes of screen time, this movie would have been perfect.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/the-legend-of-the-7-golden-vampires-1974

An American Werewolf in Paris (1997)

© Hollywood Pictures © Buena Vista Pictures

Remember those sequels from the late 90s that I saw before the original because they were more accessible to me back then? Well here’s another one. I didn’t even know this was a sequel for a while. Of course the original is my favourite werewolf movie of all time, now. But there was a time where I didn’t know it existed. This movie is from a time where Tom Everett Scott was everywhere. Although the werewolf transformations were CGI which hasn’t really aged well, I still wince whenever I see those knees bend backwards. The comedy moments may not gel with everyone like with the first movie, but it’s certainly of its time, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

Where to watch: https://www.justwatch.com/uk/movie/an-american-werewolf-in-paris

Studios have always seemed content with prolonging a horror movie’s life until there is no money left to extort. That doesn’t necessarily mean that the movies can’t be enjoyable to some degree. A lot of work and time goes into making these movies from so many people in different departments. Some effort is made, even if it doesn’t feel like that sometimes. We can’t just wish a movie into existence, someone has to put the work in. Just because you don’t like it, doesn’t mean that everyone else has to feel the same way.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.