My Favourites in Horror: Sequels/Prequels

Sequels can be hit or miss, especially in horror. A lot of the time they can never measure up to the original, apart from a few rare exceptions. Some movies tend to fluctuate into franchises where the ideas dry up and become convoluted. With that being said, here are some of my favourite movie sequels and prequels.

I will include the links for each movie on justwatch, on which you can change the country to suit your location, so you can find out where to watch it.

Friday the 13th Part III (1982)

© Paramount Pictures

Here’s where Jason gets his hockey mask. I don’t quite know why I love this movie, it could be down to the amount of times I’ve watched it so it’s become nostalgic? Ignoring the incredibly gimmicky 3D aspect that came to every third movie in a trilogy during the 80s, this movie is still very entertaining for many reasons and is the first to feel like a legit Friday the 13th movie. Jason as killer + hockey mask + teens = the franchise we all know and love. Review.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Evil Dead (2013)

© TriStar Pictures © Sony Pictures Releasing

Out of all the Evil Dead sequels, which granted there aren’t many of, I think I enjoyed this pseudo-sequel most. Since this is both a remake and a sequel I’m counting it here. The second one was balls to the wall crazy and I have yet to watch Army of Darkness. This movie took us back to straight-up horror, which I’m more of a fan of. The cast was well put together and the gore felt totally justified. Demonic possession really requires a lot of gore.

Where to watch: Justwatch

The Strangers: Prey At Night (2018)

© Aviron Pictures

I honestly didn’t know this movie was going to exist until it was about to be released. Quite the surprise and I wasn’t disappointed. I do love an 80s soundtrack, even if the movie isn’t set in the 80s.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Candyman 2: Farewell to the Flesh (1995)

© PolyGram Filmed Entertainment © Gramercy Pictures

I have previously stated that I think this movie is a perfect sequel. There’s something about New Orleans and horror that just go really well together. Also, Veronica Cartwright has become such a staple in the genre ever since she appeared in the Hitchcock movie The Birds.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Queen of the Damned (2002)

© Warner Bros.

Along with the incredible soundtrack that has Jonathan Davis (Korn) singing Disturbed songs, the movie is very stylish (like a Blade movie) and has some memorable performances among its cast. There is this awesome scene where Akasha (the titular Queen of the Damned) walks into a vampire nightclub (again a bit like Blade) and basically just kills them all with what looks like very little effort. Aaliyah was really great in this movie. You know how the Blade movies have that techno like soundtrack? Well imagine that with Disturbed music and you get a very similar movie. Not that that’s a bad thing.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Sinister 2 (2015)

© Entertainment One © Focus Features

Who says the throw away police officer can’t become a leading man in the sequel? I know I don’t. It’s kind of sad that they didn’t give Deputy So & So a real name, but Found Flix called him Drew and I think it works. I enjoyed the new home videos, and all the extra stuff that others didn’t seem to like.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Paranormal Activity 3 (2011)

© Paramount Pictures

Something about the 80s setting and the primitive tech adds an extra layer of spoopy.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Insidious Chapter 3 (2015)

© Stage 6 Films © Focus Features

Let’s go back to the beginning with this prequel. It’s always nice to have Elise alive. I think the new story is why I like this movie more than the others. It changes things up from the first two.

Where to watch: Justwatch

The Conjuring 2 (2016)

© New Line Cinema © Warner Bros.

I prefer the setting of this movie to the first due to its more urban surroundings rather than it being in the middle of nowhere. I also like that they used the Enfield haunting for the story which has inspired many others such as Ghostwatch and the three part British series The Enfield Haunting starring Timothy Spall. I recommend both of these also.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Halloween III: Season of the Witch (1982)

© Dino De Laurentiis Company © Universal Pictures

Such a promising aspect with good intentions that was just poorly executed. The title is what ruined it, and I know that Michael Myers himself agrees with me there (just watch the 80s documentary In Search of Darkness). I honestly love this movie for its strange plot and use of synth music. So quirky. I take my hat off to you John Carpenter! Review.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Wolf Creek 2 (2013)

© Screen Australia © Roadshow Films

I reviewed this movie last month here if you missed it. This movie is just so special. The humour is really there and of course the kangaroos! I’ve already mentioned this scene in two separate posts because I feel that I need to mention it wherever possible and probably will be for the foreseeable future.

Where to watch: Justwatch

A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors (1987)

© New Line Cinema © The New Line-Heron Joint Venture

This seems to be the most popular sequel of the franchise, and for good reason. This is the movie that saw Freddy become the joy that he is today with his comedy genius and quippy one-liners. It also brings back a couple of familiar characters and gives us some much needed Freddy backstory. Well I needed it. Review.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Psycho II (1983)

© Universal Pictures

I reviewed this movie last year here. Now you would think that a sequel to a movie that is not only responsible for creating the slasher subgenre, but is also one of Hitchcock’s masterpieces, would be one of the worst ideas in cinema history. Somehow it became its own masterpiece. Maybe it’s because they didn’t try to replicate or copy Hitch’s filmmaking style, but instead created a movie that feels like a legitimate continuation of Norman Bates’s story while shifting the tone to suit the audience of the 80s. It’s more graphic in various ways, and Anthony Perkins did a great job reprising his most famous role.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Jaws 2 (1978)

© Universal Pictures © Zanuck/Brown Productions

I reviewed this movie during the Summer here. It’s a controversial opinion but I just love this movie.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Halloween H20 (1998)

© Dimension Films

The mid-late 90s had some really good horror movies, especially if you were a teen/pre-teen during those years. There are some really underrated ones from that time, too. Movies just felt cooler at that time with their stylish production, awesome soundtracks, and familiar faces. This one has Josh Hartnett, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Michelle Williams, Jodi Lyn O’Keefe, and young Robin Williams in Jumanji. Also I’m sure some horror fans appreciated watching Jamie Lee Curtis and Janet Leigh on screen together.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Red Dragon (2002)

© Universal Pictures © Dino De Laurentiis Company

I really struggled between this and Hannibal, but I loved Ralph Fiennes’s performance in this too much to leave it out of the list. There’s something Norman Bates about it, and it’s probably his most sympathetic villain portrayal (that I know of). Also, I just finished binging the Hannibal series (more on that some other time) so I’ve become quite attached to Will Graham.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Scream 2 (1997)

© Dimension Films © Miramax

As entertaining as Scream 3 is, and Scream 4 was a great modern addition, I have to go with the second movie here. Laurie Metcalf alone is worth the watch. Set a year after the first movie, the guys are now in college with some added characters. There are cameos from Sarah Michelle Gellar and Joshua Jackson, plus they give Liev Schreiber more to do in this one.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Hellbound: Hellraiser II (1988)

© New World Pictures © Film Futures

This sequel follows up the first movie perfectly. Kirsty has been hospitalised after her harrowing ordeal with the Cenobites and her uncle Frank. Just when you think she’d been through enough, she has to deal with the return of her stepmother Julia and her psychiatrist. There is also a bit of backstory for Pinhead. This one is a bit more surreal and fantasy than the first one. Review.

Where to watch: Justwatch

An American Werewolf in Paris (1997)

© Hollywood Pictures © Buena Vista Pictures

Okay I’ll admit it, I saw this movie before I saw the first, which as you may know is my favourite werewolf movie. Again, this is a mid-late 90s movie so it (and movies like it) will always be special to me. I love the practical effects of the werewolf transformation in the first, but there was something about the ones in this one that stuck with me. You see the knees bend backwards which looks incredibly painful.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Bride of Re-Animator (1990)

© Re-Animator II Productions © 50th Street Films

Re-Animator is a new one for me. I only watched it for the first time this year, along with its sequels. The second sequel, Beyond Re-Animator, wasn’t great to be honest. Bride, however, was just insane. I loved the zaniness of the first one, but I feel they really amped it up here. I can’t believe it took me so long to get round to these. I probably have to give credit to Dead Meat James for the incentive.

Where to watch: Justwatch

The Revenge of Frankenstein (1958)

© Hammer Film Productions © Columbia Pictures Corporation

I fell in love with the Hammer Frankenstein series a few years ago, and Peter Cushing along with it. I love that man so much. I haven’t seen a bad Hammer movie, and that includes sequels. All of the Frankenstein sequels are great and deliver something different. But always Peter Cushing.

Where to watch: Justwatch

The Collection (2012)

© LD Entertainment © Fortress Features

The first movie was just awesome, and I think the sequel was just as awesome as a follow up. Bringing back Arkin was a great decision. I can’t wait for the next sequel, The Coll3cted, which I don’t think has been given a release date yet. Still excited though.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Happy Death Day 2U (2019)

© Blumhouse Productions © Universal Pictures

I liked the genre change that this movie had. It went from teen mystery horror to sci-fi and tried to offer an explanation for the day repetition. Did we need it? Not necessarily, but I still enjoyed it and all of Tree’s unique and hilarious deaths. They tried and I was thoroughly entertained.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Curse of Chucky (2013)

© Universal 1440 Entertainment © Universal Studios

We go back to dark Chucky while keeping some of the continuity of the previous movies. I’m not sure which ones, possibly before Bride of Chucky since there is no Tiffany or mention of her. I don’t want to spoil this moment but the post credits scene is amazing! Also, Fiona Dourif is really good as main girl Nica. And yes, she’s Brad Dourif’s daughter which makes it even more special.

Where to watch: Justwatch

The Rage: Carrie 2 (1999)

© United Artists © Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Hey, remember when I said that I saw An American Werewolf in Paris before I saw the first one? Well, the same goes for Carrie. When I finally watched the first one I finally understood the weird chorus of “they’re gonna laugh at you” during the party scene. It’s nice to have Sue still.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Bride of Frankenstein (1935)

© Universal Pictures

This is one of those rare exceptions of a movie sequel surpassing the original. The additional characters and the return of previous ones are possibly the reason for that.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Blade II (2002)

© New Line Cinema

Apparently the combination of Blade, Guillermo Del Toro and Ron Perlman make a great sequel. It looks really cool, even though it’s heavily Matrix inspired. The mutant vampires are awesome.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Angels & Demons (2009)

© Columbia Pictures © Imagine Entertainment

Apparently adding Ewan McGregor to anything makes it more entertaining. That’s what the first one was missing! I’m not saying the first one isn’t entertaining. This one just has two powerhouses in its cast.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Creep 2 (2017)

© Duplass Brothers Productions © The Orchard

In the first movie you were wondering what the deal with this guy is. In the second you know what the deal is but you still don’t know what to expect. There’s a possibility of a third movie, which sounds like a good idea to me.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Rings (2017)

© Macari/Edelstein © Paramount Pictures

Updating the tech, making a new tape, and adding new elements to the story seems to make this a really good sequel. Putting Johnny Galecki and Vincent D’Onofrio in it doesn’t hurt either.

Where to watch: Justwatch

The Legend of the 7 Golden Vampires (1974)

© A Hammer/Shaw Production © Columbia-Warner

I don’t care what anyone says, I love this movie. The only thing that prevented it from being perfect was the lack of Christopher Lee. I get that he was getting fed up with the role, which is why he gave it up, but Dracula’s only on screen for about 10 minutes. But that was his choice to make and I respect him too much to criticise it. At least Peter Cushing returned for the end of this franchise. The martial arts is just a bonus. Also, if you’ve seen Kung Pow, you’re in for a real treat. Pay attention to the archer brother.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Damien: Omen II (1978)

© Twentieth Century Fox

This one is interesting. In the first movie he’s a small child who probably doesn’t understand what he is. Here he’s a bit older and beginning to understand and deal with it. It’s a little bit less horror feeling but the kid who plays Damien is really creepy and strangely intimidating. He was in an episode of Roald Dahl’s Tales of the Unexpected where he played a boarding school bully who is just as disturbing.

Where to watch: Justwatch

Final Destination 3 (2006)

© New Line Cinema

First planes, then cars, and now rollercoasters. These movies really want to scare you out of everything. I really do like the second movie but this one goes back to the orginal teen format and adds some familiar faces. Mary Elizabeth Winstead is really good as the lead, but with Scott Pilgrim being one of my all time favourite movies I may be a little bit biased.

Where to watch: Justwatch

So that’s my list. What are some of your favourite horror movie sequels? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.