Deadly Home (2015) Review

This is one of two movies named Deadly Home (as well as Intruders and Shut In) that was released in 2015. I prefer this one though, to be honest.

© Black Fish Films © Momentum Pictures

Anna Rook has been suffering with agoraphobia for the last ten years after her father’s passing. She is caring for her sick brother when he dies, leaving her alone. On the day of his funeral, three guys show up looking for a stash of money, unaware that she’s there and won’t leave.

© Black Fish Films © Momentum Pictures

This is what I thought Don’t Breathe was going to be. I actually thought this was better. There was no justification for these invaders, they were just straight up bad guys. No sob stories, no “I’m doing this to get out of my horrible situation”. Just flat out a-holes doing a-hole things.

© Black Fish Films © Momentum Pictures

This was the first thing outside of Leverage I had seen Beth Riesgraf in and it was weird to see her so un-Parker. Her phobia lent her a certain vulnerability which made her more compelling to watch. It made me feel sorry for her which made her survival more important to me. I actually cared.

© Black Fish Films © Momentum Pictures

Rory Culkin is also pretty likable, maybe because he’s a Culkin. He’s not as whiny as he is in Scream 4, which is a big plus. I really didn’t want anything to happen to him, even though he’s the cause of all the bad things that occur. If only the lad had kept his mouth shut.

© Black Fish Films © Momentum Pictures

The villains are fundamentally unlikable with no redeeming qualities. You want them to die, well I did anyway. They’re bad guys in a horror movie, you’re supposed to.

© Black Fish Films © Momentum Pictures

I don’t want to spoil too much since the reveal is so satisfying, I mainly just wanted to bring some attention to a great movie that is unknown.

© Black Fish Films © Momentum Pictures

Where to watch: Justwatch

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.