Hostel (2005) Review

© Next Entertainment © Lions Gate Films

Two American college students, Paxton and Josh , along with Icelandic Óli , are travelling through Amsterdam. While staying in a hostel they meet Alexei, who tells them about a hostel in Slovakia where there are plenty of beautiful women for them to have sex with. On the train they encounter a Dutch businessman who strikes up a conversation with them, telling them how great Slovakia is and how beautiful the women are. After arriving at the hostel they hook up with some girls, which turns out to be a mistake.

© Next Entertainment © Lions Gate Films

I’ll leave it there. Gotta say, some parts of this movie made me a little bit queasy. I have a thing about eyes, teeth and fingernails. Any damage to those in a movie and I look away. There I admit it! Even though I grew up on horror movies, I have developed a sensitivity to those three body parts and I can’t watch anything where those are primarily involved. I’m looking at you too “Saw” series! I now have a tendency to overthink what I’m watching, and when I watch horror movies I tend to think about what that would feel like. I don’t know why. But yes, there is an eye scene, but I think I may have desensitised myself to it.

© Next Entertainment © Lions Gate Films

Anyway. If you like gore then this will definitely be your thing. I’ll admit, I’m not a fan of Quentin Tarantino, but I like this movie. It’s disturbing but can be funny also. The beginning serves up a few laughs. When the Dutch businessman (He is actually credited as that!) is on the train talking to the guys, he brings out this tub of salad and starts eating it with his hands. It’s so random! Paxton then called him Edward Saladhands which I found hilarious.

© Next Entertainment © Lions Gate Films

There is a lot of blood and the occasional vomit. What else do they have in abundance? Boobs of course! Plenty of naked chicks. Because apparently all women in Eastern Europe will walk around naked most of the time and have sex with any guy with an American accent. Not only that, but the children are legit psychos, too. There are like three scenes where a group of kids go all Children of the Corn on these guys if they don’t give them candy. The third time is the best though, and it serves a purpose. It’s really brutal though.

© Next Entertainment © Lions Gate Films

So my overall opinion of this movie… It’s enjoyable. Maybe not while you’re eating, especially salad! I haven’t seen any of the sequels, but to be honest I probably never will. One is definitely enough for me!

© Next Entertainment © Lions Gate Films

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.