House at the End of the Street (2012) Review

© Relativity Media

When 17-year-old Elissa moves into a new house with her mother, Sarah, their new neighbours immediately start bad-mouthing the house nearby. Four year ago, a young girl murdered her parents in the middle of the night and fled into the woods, never to be seen again. Her older brother, Ryan, now lives there alone. The neighbours would like nothing more than to burn the house down as it is lowering their property value. While Elissa is walking home from a party in the pouring rain, Ryan passes in his car and offers her a lift. After a bit of hesitation she accepts. Throughout the course of the movie, Ryan tells her that his sister, Carrie Anne, was injured in an accident that left her slightly brain damaged and aggressive, resulting in the murder of their parents. Elissa starts a friendship with him, even though her mother objects.

© Relativity Media

I have to say, the twist in this movie was fantastic. I didn’t see it coming. It’s basically the story of the new kid and the weird kid. There is also the relationship between Elissa and Sarah, which reminds me of my own relationship with my mum. We were very close. Although Elissa and Sarah’s relationship starts to go a bit downhill with Sarah working all the time as a nurse, and Elissa’s relationship with Ryan.

© Relativity Media

I love the casting of Elizabeth Shue as Sarah, a classic 80s actress, well known for so many great films of the decade. This was actually the first movie I ever saw that starred Jennifer Lawrence. I like J-Law in this and I thought her performance was very good. I’m not giving anymore away, that would ruin your experience. All I’ll say is watch it.

© Relativity Media

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.